Star-Studded Entry For KRT Season-Closing Autocross At Kasarani

Sahib Omar in past action. PHOTO/ KENYA RALLY TEAM (KRT)

NAIROBI, Kenya- With virtually all titles already taken, Sunday’s 10th and last round of the Kenya National Autocross Championship will no doubt be a scintillating experience in the mud.

Siblings Eann and Allan Bengi are among the star attractions in the race which will be organized by Kenya Rally Team (KRT).

The event will take place at the WRC SSS Race track Moi International Sports Complex, Kasarani where entrants will run four heats of which the best of three will count towards the final classification.

Rising star Neel Gohil already has the Two Wheel Drive Non-Turbo-buggy and Two Wheel Drive Non-Turbo-car titles in the bag and his presence in Sunday’s race presents an opportunity for the Nairobi-based prodigy more seat time on his race machines.

Neel has driven a Toyota Vitz and a Two Wheel Drive buggy this season in his unprecedented double championship campaign. He became the first teenage driver to win two Autocross senior titles in one single season.

Like Neel, Azaad Manji also sealed the Two Wheel Drive Turbo championship at the penultimate stage and will return to showcase his traditional hair-raising thrills.

Also in the mix are the daughter and mother team of Tinashe and Caroline Gatimu listed in the Open Class against newly crowned champion John Kasivane, star driver Rajveer Thethy, and Ismael Azeli.

Four Wheel Drive Turbo Class has champion Eric Bengi returning in his Evolution X Marque.

The Pee Wee Class has already been taken by Allan Bengi who will be back to maximize championship points.

But Allan’s brother Eaan will fight for the Bambino title with leader Gitau Munene at the home stretch. Whoever comes first between Gitau and Eann takes the home championship.

Karamveer Singh Rooprai already has the Junior Two-Wheel Drive Non-Turbo title in the bag but will be up against Cheche Ababu in the last race of the season touted to be a wet and muddy affair.

The three-car Umoja Racing team is also listed for the Sunday event.

They are Kadivane (Subaru GF8), Clement Marini (EVO7), and Gideon Kimani in a Subaru N10.

The Autocross Round 10 race will be run in compliance with the National Competition Rules of Kenya

Motorsports Federation and the International Sporting Code of the FIA.

The following classes shall be contested by drivers in Sunday’s race meeting:

Class 1: 2wd Non-Turbo Buggy

Class 2: 2wd Non-Turbo Car

Class 3: 2wd Turbo/ Supercharged

Class 4: 4wd Non – Turbo

Class 5: 4wd Turbo/ Supercharged

Class 6: Open

Class 7: Quad Bikes

Class 8: Bambino

Class 9: Junior 2wd Non–Turbo

Class 10: Pee Wee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *